A person who is a citizen of India has finished 35 years old and it fit the bill for election as an individual from the Council of States {Rajya Sabha} is qualified for the election as Vice-President. he/she ought not to hold any office of benefit under the administration of India or the legislature of any state or under any nearby or another expert subject to the control of any of the said governments.

The term of office for the Vice-President is 5 years from the date on which he/she enters the office. Constituent College comprises of individuals from the two Houses of Parliament including assigned individuals. Estimation of the vote of every Member of Parliament is one. Every Elector has the same number of inclinations as there are hopefuls. The races are held as per the arrangement of Proportional Representation by methods for a single transferable vote. [Article 66 of the Constitution of India]

The Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The present Vice-President of India is Shri Venkaiah Naidu.

Profile of Current Vice - President

Name : Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu
Father's Name : Late Shri Rangaiah Naidu
Mother's Name : Late Shrimati Ramanamma
Date of Birth : 1 July 1949
Place of Birth : Chavatapalem, Distt. Nellore (Andhra Pradesh)
Marital Status : Married on 14 April 1970
Spouse's Name :
Shrimati M. Usha
Children :
One Son and One daughter
Educational Qualifications :
B.A., B.L. (Educated at V.R. High School, Nellore; V.R. College, Nellore and Law College, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)
Profession :
Agriculturist/Farmer, Political and Social worker
Permanent Address :
House No. 8-2-686/M/3,Plot No. 56, Road No. 12,
Banjara Hills, Hyderabad-500034 (Telangana)
Present Address :
Vice-President's House, 6, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi - 110 011
Telephone - 011-23016422, 23016344
E-mail: vpindia@nic.in

Positions Held

President, Students' Union, V.R. College, Nellore;
President, Students' Union, Andhra University Colleges;
1974 Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsha Samiti of Andhra Pradesh;
1977-80 President, Youth Wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh;
1978-85 Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh;
1980-83 Vice-President, Youth Wing of All India B.J.P.;
1980-85 Leader, B.J.P. Legislature Party in Andhra Pradesh;
1985-88 General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.;
1988-93 President, Andhra Pradesh State Unit of B.J.P.;
1993-Sept. 2000 General Secretary, All India B.J.P.;
April 1998 Elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (first term);
2002-2003 Member, Committee on Home Affairs; Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture;
Dec. 1999-2001 Member, Committee on Finance;
Jan. 2000-Feb. 2004 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Rural Development;
30 Sept. 2000-30 June 2002 Minister of Rural Development;
July 2002-Dec. 2003 National President, B.J.P.;
Jan. 2003- Feb. 2004 Member, Committee on External Affairs;
Jan. 2004-Oct. 2004 National President, B.J.P. (second term);
July 2004 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (second term);
Aug. 2004-May 2009 Member, Committee on Finance;
Oct. 2004-May 2009 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution;
April 2005-Jan. 2006 Senior Vice-President, B.J.P.;
Jan. 2006-July 2017 Member, Parliamentary Board of B.J.P. and Central Election Committee;
Sept. 2006-Sept. 2009 Chairman, Committee on Petitions;
Oct. 2006-May 2014 Member, General Purposes Committee;
Dec. 2008-Aug. 2013 Member, Tobacco Board;
Aug. 2009-May 2014 Chairman, Committee on Home Affairs;
July 2010 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (third term) (resigned w.e.f. 23 June 2016);
April-Nov. 2011 Chairman, Sub-Committee to examine various provisions of the Enemy Property (Amendment & Validation) Second Bill, 2010 of the Committee on Home Affairs;
Dec. 2011-May 2014 Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Disaster Management;
26 May 2014-5 July 2016 Minister of Urban Development; Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs;
July 2016 Elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan (fourth term) (resigned w.e.f. 10 August 2017);
5 July 2016-17 July 2017 Minister of Urban Development; Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting;
11 August 2017 onwards Vice-President of India and Ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha
Vice President of india M Venkaiah Naidu

Books Published

Articles in newspapers on the subjects of political and public interests

Other interests

Agriculture and social work; motivating voluntary organizations, engaged in constructive work in fields of agriculture, health, vocational education & training, animal care etc.


Reading, educating and motivating people

Countries visited

U.S.A., U.K., Malaysia, Singapore, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Australia, Mauritius, Maldives, Thailand, South Korea, Spain, Italy, Germany, Egypt, Dubai (U.A.E.), Hong-Kong, Cambodia and Austria

Other Information

Was Chairman, Students' Union at College and also in University; imprisoned under M.I.S.A. during the Emergency, 1975-77; was Secretary, (i) B.J.P. Parliamentary Board and (ii) B.J.P. Central Election Committee; Spokesman, B.J.P., 1996-2000

Contact Details:

Vice President's House, 6, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi - 110 011
Phone: 011-23016422, 23016344

To know more about the Vice President  you may also visit  : http://vicepresidentofindia.nic.in/

Former Vice Presidents of India


Name Of the Vice-President


Dr S.Radhakrishnan


Dr S.Radhakrishnan


Dr Zakir Hussain


Shri V.V.Giri


Shri G.S.Pathak


Shri B.D.Jatti


Shri M.Hidayatullah


Shri R.Venkataraman




Shri K.R.Narayanan


Shri Krishan Kant


Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat


Shri M.Hamid Ansari


Shri M.Hamid Ansari