Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP

Leads | Results from Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP

Candidate Name Party Status Votes Secured
Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP -Lok Sabha Elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party commonly know as BJP is one of two major political parties of India. BJP party was officially created in 6 April 1980. BJP is a merger of Bhartiya Jana sangh and Janata party but it orgin lies way back in 1951 by Syama Prasad Mukherjee and the party was then know as Bharatiya Jana Sangh  and later in 1977 Bharatiya Jana Sangh merged with several other parties to form Janta Party which disolved in 1980 and BJP was born and the first general election which was fought under the new party name BJP was in 1984, at that year they won two Lok sabha seats. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the founding president from year  1980 to 1986. The Ideology and organisational links are similar to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. Their Ideology is basically about Hindutva, hindu nationalism, integral humanism, conservatism, national conservatism, social conservatism, economic nationalism, right-wing populism.

In terms of primary membership BJP  is the world's largest party. As of 2018, it is the largest political party in India in terms of representation in the  parliament as well as in state assemblies.It holds seats in Lok Sabha (272 / 545 ) and seats in Rajya Sabha (73 / 245) . BJP is the current ruling party in India. Narendra Modi is the prime minister of India since 26th May 2014.


Current President of the BJP Party

Amit Shah

Parliamentary Chairperson

Narendra Modi

Lok Sabha leader

Narendra Modi  (Prime Minister)

Rajya Sabha leader

Arun Jaitley (Finance Minister)

Official Website