Voter turnout lowest in all phases: 60.42%

By  Shimon Chadha | Updated:  Apr 29, 2019, 06:51 PM

The fourth phase of the ongoing 17th Lok Sabha elections in the country spanned 71 constituencies over nine states. Elections in Maharashtra and Odisha will come to an end with this phase, whereas polling will commence in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand and Rajasthan. Apart from this, 42 Assembly constituencies of Odisha, and bypolls in one constituency each in three states also witnessed polling.
By 6:00pm, the estimated average voter turnout as reported by the Election Commission was 60.46%, the lowest so far in the four phases. Eight seats of West Bengal recorded the highest turnout at 76.59%, followed by 66.14% in six constituencies of Madhya Pradesh, 64.59% in 13 seats of Rajasthan, 64.05% in six constituencies of Odisha, 63.77% in three seats of Jharkhand, 57.95% in 5 seats of Bihar, 54.16% in 13 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, and 52.18% in 17 seats of Maharashtra. Lowest voter turnout was recorded at 9.79% in the sole seat of Anantnag in Jammu and Kashmir. 
Over 1.5 lakh polling booths have been set up, and 12 crore registered voters voting for 961 candidates. Three phases of voting have already taken place – on April 11, April 18 and April 23. The first phase had a final voter turnout of 69.5%, while the second phase recorded an overall voting percentage of 69.44%. The estimated turnout in phase three was 67.99%. All phases were marked by glitches in electronic voting machines and sporadic incidents of violence. The elections will take place in three more phases till May 19, and the results will be declared on May 23

We welcome your comments at [email protected]