Vote For Congress in Pockets Where Left is Weak: CPI(M) Leader Urges voters in Chhattisgarh

Updated:  Oct 30, 2018, 09:00 AM

Surjya Kant Mishra CPI M Lok Sabha Elections 2019
Surjya Kant Mishra, member of Politburo and CPI (M)’s state secretary urged voters in Chhattisgarh to vote for the Congress wherever the left is weak and unable to field candidates hinting at a possible alliance with the Congress in Lok Sabha polls 2019.
While talking to journalists during a protest in front of the CBI office in Salt Lake area, Mishra said, “Wherever the CPI (M) is not strong, I think people should support the Congress. In Chhattisgarh, we are contesting on three seats. On those seats, we should fight hard to defeat the communal BJP, but those seats where we don't have any candidates, votes should go in favour of the Congress to stop the BJP from returning to power." Chhattisgarh has 90-member Assembly and the polls are being held in two phases: on November 12 and 20. The votes will be counted on December 11.
Ahead of 2019 election Mishra’s statement assumes importance hinting that left may support the Congress or could chalk out a common formula to maximise the anti-BJP votes in West Bengal. Bengal Congress president welcomed Mishra's statement and said, “We are happy that he made this statement. In Bengal, if the CPI (M) wants to have some understanding with the Congress, then I will talk to the central leadership in Delhi.” However, BJP didn't show any concern about Mishra's comment.
“No formula will work in West Bengal as people are fed up with both the TMC and the CPI (M) government. People want change and we expect good response from the people,” State BJP president Dilip Ghosh said. BJP has only two Lok Sabha seats in the state currently, in 2014 Union ministers Babul Supriyo and SS Ahluwalia won from Asansol and Darjeeling, respectively. Now, BJP is all set to target 22 Parliamentary seats out of 42 in Bengal. The Trinamool Congress won 34 seats and the CPI (M) and the Congress won two seats each.

We welcome your comments at [email protected]