Samajwadi party announces list: Mulayam plays safe

By  Shimon Chadha | Updated:  Mar 08, 2019, 02:47 PM

mulayam singh yadav lok sabha elections 2019
A day after the Congress announced it's candidates from Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections which are just a month away, the Samajwadi party has now announced it's first list of candidates from the state, comprising of 6 out of 37 candidates as per their alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party. 
SP founder Mulayam Singh Yadav has, once again, decided to run from his stronghold, Mainpuri. Yadav has fought from the constituency multiple times and has represented it in the Lok Sabha for three terms. Though he fought from it last year, he decided to retain his other constituency of Azamgarh. 
Yadav has very openly been critical of his son, Akhilesh Yadav forming an alliance with the BSP, headed by Mayawati. Yadav also said at a public meeting a few days ago that if any candidate wishes to change his constituency or choose a new one, he should come to Yadav and not the son, as he said that “Akhilesh will give the tickets, but I can change it”. 
He also surprised the country, when he announced in Parliament that he would like to see Prime Minister Narendra Modi win these elections. 
Akshay Yadav, the son of SP principal general Secretary, Ram Gopal Yadav, will fight from the constituency of Ferozabad. Interestingly, Shivpal Singh Yadav, brother of Mulayam Singh Yadav, who left SP in 2017 to form his new party, Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohiya), is also contesting from the constituency against Akshay Yadav. 
The announcing of the list cleared the rumours about SP allying with the Congress, as both the parties have announced a candidate each from the constituency of Badaun. However, the SP-BSP alliance will not have any candidate stand from Rae Bareilly and Amethi, the two strongholds of the Congress, where Sonia Gandhi and her son, Congress President Rahul Gandhi will stand from. 
31 candidates’ names of SP remain to be announced, with the BSP set to announce names of all candidates from the state with the maximum number of seats in the Lok Sabha, and which tends to overturn the face of the election every time. 

We welcome your comments at [email protected]