Important statistics and names of Phase II of elections

By  Shimon Chadha | Updated:  Apr 18, 2019, 10:38 AM

As the second phase of the 17th Lok Sabha elections begins today in 11 states and 1 UT, 95 seats will go to poll, and around 1600 candidates are contesting. Apart from this, 18 Assembly seats of Tamil Nadu will also conduct elections today.
Tamil Nadu has 39 Lok Sabha seats, but polling will be held in only 38. Elections have been cancelled in the Vellore seat due to suspected bribery charges, as Rs.11.5 crore cash was found with a candidate. In the remaining 38 constituencies approximately 822 candidates are contesting. Some of the prominent candidates are Kanimozhi and Dayanidhi Maran fromm DMK, and Karti Chidambaram, son of former Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram, from Congress. 0.81% voter turnout was observed by 10:00am. 
Assam will witness polling in 5 constituencies, with around 50 candidates contesting. Some of the noted contestants for today’s elections are Deputy Speaker of Assam Assembly, Karipanth Mallah from BJP, All India Congress Women president, Sushmita Dev from Congress, and Radheshyam  Biswas from AIUDF. A few EVMs have been reported to be not functioning very well in the state. 9.51% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
 Bihar will have elections in 5 seats, and around 69 candidates standing from them. The well-known faces include incumbent MP Shailesh Kumar Mandal from the RJD, Santosh Kumar from JDU, and Dr. Mohammed Javed from Congress. 12.27% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Chhattisgarh will conduct elections spanning 3 constituencies. 36 candidates will be contesting. Some of the heavyweights from the state are former MLA Chunnilal Sahu from BJP, and former state party president Dhanendra Sahu from Congress.  7.75% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Jammu and Kashmir will have 24 candidates contesting from two constituencies. The eminent contenders comprise of Jitendra Singh from the BJP and Vikramaditya Singh from Congress.  0.99% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Karnataka will undergo elections in 14 constituencies, and have 241 candidates fighting against each other. The prominent faces include former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda from Janata Dal (Secular), veteran Veerappa Moily from Congress, and Union Minister Sadananda Gowda from BJP. 1.14% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Maharashtra will witness polling in 10 constituencies, and 179 candidates contending for the posts. The heavyweights include daughter of late Gopinath Munde, Pritam Munde from BJP, state party vice president, Rajendra Shingne from NCP, and former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan from Congress. 0.85% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Manipur will have 11 candidates contesting for one seat. The well-known faces are Nabakishore Singh from Congress and Rajkumar Ranjan Singh from BJP.  1.78% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Odisha has five constituencies, and 39 candidates contending against each other. The noted contenders include daughter of former Chief Minister Hemananda Biswal, Sunita Biswal from BJD, Union Minister Jual Oram from BJP, and Samarendra Mishra from Congress.  2.15% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
West Bengal will conduct polling in three constituencies, and 41 candidates contesting from them. The prominent candidates are social worker Raju Bista from BJP, wife of former Information and Broadcasting Minister, late Priyaranjan Das Munsi, Deepa Das Munsi from Congress, and Mohammed Salim from CPM.  0.55% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Uttar Pradesh, the state which sends the maximum number of MPs to the Parliament, will have 85 candidates contesting in 8 seats. Some well-known faces include actor-turned-politician Hema Malini from BJP, and state party chief, Raj Babbar from Congress.  10.26% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Puducherry, the only Union Territory to conduct polling today, will witness 18 candidates striving for the one constituency. These include former Chief Minister Ve Vaithilingram from Congress, and former MLA Narayanaswamy Kesavan from AINRC.  1.62% voter turnout was observed by 10:00 am.
Approximately 15.9 crore voters have been registered for the Phase II of polling, in more than 1.81 lakh polling booths. Out of the total voters, around 8 crore are males, 7 crore are females, and more than 11,000 are transgenders. 

We welcome your comments at [email protected]