Congress finalises 4 candidates for Delhi

By  Shimon Chadha | Updated:  Apr 12, 2019, 04:54 PM

Congress Delhi
The Congress chief election committee has finalised four of of seven candidates for the seats of Chandni Chowk, Northeast Delhi, Northwest Delhi and New Delhi in Delhi, where elections will be conducted on May 12, in the sixth phase.
The meeting, which was held yesterday evening, was summoned by Congress President Rahul Gandhi, and picked Kapil Sibal to contest from Chandni Chowk, Ajay Maken from New Delhi, Jai Parkash Aggarwal from Northeast Delhi and Raj Kumar Chauhan from Northwest Delhi.
Sibal, former Additional Solicitor General of India, has represented the Chandni Chowk constituency twice in the past, defeating BJP leader Smriti Irani in 2004, and BJP representative Vijender Gupta in 2009, who is currently a Delhi MLC. The former Minister of Law and Justice lost the 16th general elections against Dr. Harsh Vardhan of the BJP. Sibal currently represents Uttar Pradesh in the Upper House.
Ajay Maken, who was the Speaker of the Delhi Legislative Assembly and the youngest Speaker in the country, has represented the New Delhi constituency twice in the past in the Lower House. He defeated BJP candidate Jagmohan in 2004, and BJP veteran Vijay Goel in the 15th Lok Sabha Elections. Maken lost to BJP national spokesperson Meenakshi Lekhi in 2014. 
JP Aggarwal has earlier represented the Northeast Delhi constituency from 2009-2014 in the House of People by defeating B.L. Sharma of the BJP. However, he lost by a huge margin to BJP candidate Manoj Tiwari, who is the sitting Delhi BJP chief, in the last elections. Aggarwal has earlier represented Delhi in the Council of States, and represented the Chandni Chowk constituency of Delhi three consecutive terms. 
Among all these experienced veterans and maestros lies Raj Kumar Chauhan, who has never contested, let alone represented a constituency, for the general elections. Chauhan has been a former Delhi MLA from Mangolpuri.
Delhi Congress chief PC Chacko said that the names for the remaining three seats of East Delhi, West Delhi and South Delhi are yet to be decided, though some names have been shortlisted. The aforementioned names were finalised after Chacko met Delhi Congress President and former Delhi CM Sheila Dixit. 

We welcome your comments at [email protected]