Congress finalises 30 candidates, announcement to be made after resolving seat-sharing

Updated:  Oct 11, 2018, 10:30 AM

Telangana Congress Lok sabha Elections 2019
The Telangana Congress election coordination committee has finalized its first list of candidates. The list contains the name of over 30 leaders including sitting MLAs, former ministers, senior leaders, MLCs, former MPs and chief ministerial aspirants.
The list would be officially announced after the seat sharing talks between Congress and the grand alliance partners i.e., the Congress, T-TDP, TJS and CPI are completed. 
A senior Congress leader said, “These are the seats wherein the party leadership has no second thoughts of fielding any other candidate. However, if alliance parties seek some of these seats, a final decision would be taken during seat-sharing talks.” 
The list also contains names of two members from one family which could be a problem because if sources to be believed AICC leadership might drop a couple of name from the list to ensure “one-ticket per family” rule. 
“Of course, there would be exceptions of “two-tickets in a family” but only in the case of sitting MLAs, party heavy-weights and taking into the winnable factor,” said a senior leader. 
TPCC chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy and his wife Padmavati Reddy are among the sitting MLAs but the list contains the name of Sabitha Indra Reddy and her son Karthik Reddy, both of them had lost last Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. In the same way, the names of  Komatireddy brothers too are on the list. 
“Congress is completing the exercise of shortlisting the candidates for all the 119 Assembly constituencies in Telangana. The Congress election coordination committee here on Wednesday and short-listed 3 to 5 winnable candidates from the remaining Assembly segments,” a senior leader said.

We welcome your comments at [email protected]