BJP to take out rath yatras in West Bengal for Lok Sabha elections 2019

Updated:  Oct 09, 2018, 09:30 AM

West Bengal Lok sabha Elections 2019
The West Bengal BJP unit would take out three rath yatras covering all the 42 parliamentary constituencies of the state. The rath yatras are the campaign strategy of BJP for 2019 Lok Sabha elections.
The rath yatras would be held in December, but the campaign for the programme will begin just after Durga Puja said Dilip Ghosh west Bengal BJP president.
"The first rath yatra will start from the temple town of Tarapith in Birbhum district on December 3. Party president Amit Shah is likely to take part in it," said Ghosh.
He added, "He is very keen on taking part in all the three yatras. But his dates need to be worked out. Union ministers, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states and senior party leaders will take part in the rally,"
While giving specific details about the yatras Ghosh said, the second rath yatra from Namkhana-Gangasagar in South 24 Parganas district would begin on December 5 and the last one from Cooch Behar would start from December 7.
14 Lok Sabha constituencies will be covered by each rath yatra.
According to  BJP sources, the decision to take out rath yatras was taken during Shah's two-day visit to the state in June. BJP president had set a target of winning at least 22 seats in Bengal.
"Bengal is of immense importance for our party presently as people are fed up with the Trinamool Congress (TMC) regime. We need to win maximum number of seats from Eastern and Northeastern India, especially Bengal," a senior BJP leader on condition of anonymity.
BJP currently has only two Lok Sabha seat in the states, Asansol and Darjeeling.
 West Bengal BJP has prepared its Lok Sabha blueprint on the basis of its performance in the last Panchayat polls. The party is aiming 26-28 parliamentary seats in the state.
Senior BJP leader said The 28 seats where the BJP's possibilities of winning are more than 60 to 70 per cent are disseminated across north Bengal, south Bengal and tribal-dominated districts of Junglemahal.
He added Some of these seats are Balurghat, Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri and Malda North in north Bengal and Purulia, Jhargram, Medinipur, Krishnagar, Howrah in south Bengal, he said.
 BJP's convener of the election management committee in West Bengal said, "Time is fast running out for the "corrupt" and "anti-people" TMC government in the state but they are yet to realize it." Roy added, "The people will sound the final bell for TMC in the next Lok Sabha polls."

We welcome your comments at [email protected]