BJP, JDU settled the seat-sharing agreement for Lok Sabha elections 2019

Updated:  Oct 08, 2018, 03:00 PM

Bihar BJP JDU Lok sabha Elections 2019
The BJP and JDU agreed on the issue of seat sharing for the Bihar Lok Sabha elections 2019. JDU’s national general secretary and Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar’s close aide, Sanjay Jha said, “As far as the 2019 elections are concerned, the issue of seat sharing is as good as settled”.
Both the parties have reached a “respectful agreement” on numbers. It appears BJP has granted space to accommodate the JDU which had won only two seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Insiders say, BJP has been kind to accommodate JDU, which was not part of NDA then. 
BJP will first decide the seat of their other two allies which is Ram Vilas Paswan-led LJP and Upendra  Kushwaha-headed RLSP and the remaining seat will be divided between BJP and JDU evenly.
“Why aren’t you talking of what’s happening in the opposition camp? We have reached an agreement, but the opposition seems a divided house. BSP chief Mayawati has already parted ways,” said Jha, taking a dig at opposition parties.
All decisions are taken only an official announcement is left. The party is perhaps waiting for “pitrapaksha” to end on Monday before making an announcement. 
Allegedly Nitish Kumar had also referred to a “respectable agreement” with the BJP at the party’s state executive meeting in September. 
Nitish has returned to the NDA fold in July last year and formed his government with BJP’s support in the state. “There is good coordination between the two parties — the JDU and the BJP — and there are no problems in the smooth running of the state government. The alliance is working very well,” Jha claimed. 
BJP is holding meeting of most backward castes and the party is also trying to gather feedback on the mood of SC voters. 

We welcome your comments at [email protected]