52 people seek Congress ticket from Latur for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls

Updated:  Nov 15, 2018, 09:00 AM

Amit Deshmukh Latur Congress Lok Sabha Elections 2019
Congress MLA Amit Deshmukh alleged 52 people have sought the Congress ticket from Latur for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Former Lok Sabha Speaker Shivraj Patil represented the Latur seat seven times between 1980-99. The seat is now a Scheduled Caste reserved constituency following delimitation.
In 2004 LS polls BJP's Rupatai Nilangekar defeated Patil and then he himself taste defeat by the Congress' Jaywantrao Awale in 2009 LS elections.
The seat is currently held by BJP's Sunil Gaikwad. Deshmukh also told that all the 52 individuals who had come forward to seek a Congress ticket from the seat was highly educated and qualified professionals.
Amit Deshmukh said, "The state (Congress) leaders were presently surprised with the manner in which party workers from Latur attended the meeting called by state unit chief Ashok Chavan to discuss the party's preparedness and probable candidates for each of the constituencies. This gave the party hopes to wrest the seat again."
Lathur which was once a Congress bastion is now a BJP teritory by winning the municipal corporation and Zilla Parishad polls. Deshmukh, son of late Maharashtra chief minister Vilasrao Deshmukh, said the list of aspirants will be screened at the district level and a final list will be submitted to the state unit for approval.

We welcome your comments at [email protected]