Thangso Baite

Outer Manipur Manipur Lok Sabha Election 2019 Thangso Baite
Constituency :
Outer Manipur (Manipur)
Party Name :
Indian National Congress
Father's Name : Shri Ngamkhotong Baite
Mother's Name : Smt. Otvah Baite
Date of Birth : 17 Apr 1953
Place of Birth : Vill. Dongjang, Distt. Churachandpur, Manipur
Marital Status : Married
Date of Marriage : 05 Mar 1982
Spouse's Name : Smt. Hatkhoneng Baite
No.of Sons : 2
No.of Daughters : 3
Educational Qualifications :
M.A. (Political Science)
Educated at J.N.U. Center, Imphal, Manipur
Profession : Political and Social Worker

Positions Held

2002-2007 Member, Manipur Legislative Assembly
2002-2005 Minister of State, Govt. of Manipur
2003-2005 Minister of State (Independent Charge)
Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
Advisory Committee Member - ICAR
Chairman, Food Corporation of India (FCI), Manipur State
31 Aug. 2009-2012 Member Standing Committee on Agriculture
2012-2014 Member Standing Committee on Rural Development
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1 Sep. 2014 onwards
Member, Standing Committee on Health and Family Welfare
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism and Culture

Social And Cultural Activities

Working for the promotion of education among the poor people by instituting meritorious awards, etc.

Special Interests

Promotion of Education and Sports

Favourite Pastime and Recreation

Reading, Playing Chess and other outdoor related activities

Sports and Clubs

Chess General Secretary, Kuri Sporting Club, 1978-83; President - Haspi Arcai Games & Sports, 1975-1980

Countries Visited

Nepal and Myanmar

Other Information

Principal, Christian English H/S Langching, Chandel District (1980 - 1985)  Assistant Election Officer, Manipur (1985 - 1999) Member, Constitution Drafting Committee, JNU Imphal Centre; General Secretary, JNU Imphal Centre; Senate Member, Manipur University, 2004-2005; Chairman, Scheduled Tribe/ Scheduled Caste Committee, Govt. of Manipur, 2005-2006; Court Member, Manipur University, 2009-2014



Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to provide accurate data. However & its owners do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Source : Election Commission of India