Sushma Swaraj

Results from Sushma Swaraj

Candidate Name Party Status Votes Secured
Vidisha Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2019 Sushma Swaraj
Constituency :
Vidisha (Madhya Pradesh)
Party Name :
Bharatiya Janata Party
Father's Name : Shri Hardev Sharma
Mother's Name : Smt. Laxmi Devi
Date of Birth : 14 Feb 1952
Place of Birth : Ambala Cantt. (Haryana)
Marital Status : Married
Date of Marriage : 13 Jul 1975
Spouse's Name : Shri Swaraj Kaushal
No.of Daughters : 1
Educational Qualifications :
B.A., LL.B.
Educated at S.D. College, Ambala Cantt. (Haryana) and Law Deptt. Punjab University, Chandigarh
Profession : Advocate

Positions Held

1977-82 and 1987-90
Member, Haryana Legislative Assembly (two terms)
1977-79 Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment, Govt. of Haryana
1987-90 Cabinet Minister, Education, Food and Civil Supplies, Govt. of Haryana
Elected to Rajya Sabha
Chairperson, Joint Committee on Catering
Member, Committee on Government Assurances, Rajya Sabha
Chairperson, Committee on Petitions, Rajya Sabha
Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
16 May-1 Jun. 1996
Union Cabinet Minister, Information and Broadcasting
Member, Standing Committee on Defence
Chairperson, Sub-Committee on Upgradation and Modernisation of Naval Fleet
Member, Committee of Privileges
Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
19 Mar.-12 Oct. 1998 Union Cabinet Minister, Information and Broadcasting; and Telecommunications (Additional Charge)
13 Oct.- 3 Dec. 1998
Chief Minister, N.C.T. of Delhi
Apr. 2000 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (2nd term)
30 Sep. 2000 - 29 Jan. 2003
Union Cabinet Minister, Information and Broadcasting
29 Jan. 2003 - 22 May 2004 Union Cabinet Minister, Health and Family Welfare and Parliamentary Affairs
Aug. 2004 - 2009
Chairperson, Standing Committee on Home Affairs
Member, Business Advisory Committee, Rajya Sabha
Member, General Purposes Committee, Rajya Sabha
Sep. 2004 - 2009
Member, Ethics Committee, Rajya Sabha
Oct. 2004 - 2009 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
Apr. 2006
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (3rd term)
May 2006 - 2009 Member, Parliamentary Forum on Population and Public Health
May 2008 - 2009 Member, House Committee, Rajya Sabha
Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
31 Aug. 2009 - 1 Jan. 2010 Chairperson, Standing Committee on External Affairs
23 Sep. 2009 Member, Rules Committee
7 Oct. 2009 Member, Committee on Ethics
19 Oct. 2009
Member, General Purpose Committee
21 Dec. 2009
Leader , BJP Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (4th term)
27 May 2014 - 16 Feb. 2016 Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs
16 Feb. 2016 onwards
Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs

Literary Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments

  Associated with many social and cultural bodies in various capacities

Special Interests

Economy, defence and information

Favourite Pastime and Recreation

Hindi poetry, classical music, drama and fine arts

Countries Visited

Widely travelled (18 countries); Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference, Brussels, Belgium and Geneva; participated in Commonwealth Parliamentary Association`s Conference, Fiji; attended (i) SAARC Telecommunication Minister`s Conference, Dhaka; (ii) SAARC I&B Minister`s Conference, Islamabad; and (iii) SAARC Telecommunications Ministers` Conference, Colombo

Other Information

Chairperson, Indo-Israel Parliamentary Friendship Group, July 2006-2009;Member, Samsad (Court) of Visva Bharati, August 2004-2009; Best speaker (i) Haryana State consecutively for three years; and (ii) Punjab University; Best Cadet of N.C.C., S.D. College, Ambala Cantt. for three years; Best student of S.D. College, Ambala Cantt. 1969-70; awarded Gold Medal; First woman Chief Minister of Delhi; Holds the distinction of being the youngest Cabinet Minister in Haryana; Her husband holds the distinction of being the youngest Governor in India; Adjudged as the `Distinguished Couple` in the Limca Book of Records






Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to provide accurate data. However & its owners do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Source : Election Commission of India