Mullappally Ramachandran

Results from Mullappally Ramachandran

Candidate Name Party Status Votes Secured
Vatakara kerala Lok Sabha Election 2019 Mullappally Ramachandran
Constituency :
Vatakara (kerala)
Party Name :
Indian National Congress
Father's Name : Shri Mullappally Gopalan
Mother's Name : Smt. Paru Amma
Date of Birth : 07 Nov 1944
Place of Birth : Chombala, Distt. Calicut (Kerala)
Marital Status : Married
Date of Marriage : 13 Sep 1984
Spouse's Name : Smt. Usha Ramachandran
No.of Daughters : 1
Educational Qualifications :
M.A., LL.B. 
Educated at Government College, Madappally and Law College, Calicut, Kerala University
Profession :
Political and Social Worker

Positions Held

President, Kerala Students Union (KSU), Calicut District
1969-70 Chairman, Congress Forum for Socialist Action
1970-71 President, Youth Congress, Calicut District
1972-73 Chairman, Calicut University Union
1977-82 President, Kerala Pradesh Youth Congress
1984-89 General Secretary, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee
Elected to 8th Lok Sabha
1984-89 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development
1985-95 Joint Secretary, All India Congress Committee
1987-88 Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation
1987-89 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of External Affairs
1987-90 Member, Rules Committee
Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Member, Committee on Estimates
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Commerce; and Ministry of Tourism
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1991-93 Union Minister of State, Agriculture and Cooperation
Member, Standing Committee on Industry
Member, Central Advisory Committee on Light Houses
Member, Select Committee on Transplantation of Human Organs Bill, 1993
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (4th term)
Member, Standing Committee on Commerce
Member, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
Member, Sub-Committee on Agricultural Exports
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation
Member, Standing Committee on Urban and Rural Development and Convenor of its Sub-Committee-I on Ministry of Urban Affairs and Employment; and Sub-Committee on Action Taken
Member, Committee to Review the rate of Dividend payable by the Railway Undertakings to General Revenue
Member, Railway Convention Committee
Member, South Zone Railway Advisory Committee
2000-05 General Secretary, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee
2005-2010 Vice-President, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (6th term)
28 May 2009 - May 2014 Union Minister of State, Home Affairs
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (7th term)
Sep. 2014 onwards Chairman, Central Election Authority, All India Congress Committee
1 Sep. 2014 onwards
Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
12 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes

Literary Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments

Chief Sub-Editor, Viplavam - a Daily in Malyalam, Calicut

Social And Cultural Activities

President, Youngsters Cultural Association, Chombala; Organized 3 days Seminar "Vision Vatakara - 2025" on development of Vatakara Parliament Constituency in 2009; Organized 47 days - "Kadathanadu Mahotsavam" - a cultural Bonanza in 2010 and National Seminar on Higher Education "Challenges and Opportunities" in 2012

Special Interests

Protection and preservation of environment and ecology, Upliftment of weaker sections of society

Favourite Pastime and Recreation

Reading and Travelling

Countries Visited

Cuba, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Mozambique, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland and U.S.S.R.

Other Information

Vice-President, Kerala Students`Union, Kerala, 1968-69; Member, Kerala Education Advisory Board, 1973-75; Kendriya Sainik Board, 1985-87; Spices Council, 1985-88; Postal Advisory Committee, Kerala, 1986-89; Coir Board, 1995-96; Marine Products Export Development Authority (MPEDA), 1996; and Telephone Advisory Committee, Kerala  Led 58 days long Padayatra from Kasargode to Trivandrum covering all the districts of Kerala against the misrule of Janata Party in the year 1978 as the President of the Kerala Pradesh Yough Congress Committee; Leader of the Padayatra launched in commemoration of the 75th anniversary of "Dandi March" from Calicut to Payyannur under the auspices of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee in the year 2005



Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to provide accurate data. However & its owners do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Source : Election Commission of India