Karia Munda

Khunti Jharkhand Lok Sabha Election 2019 Karia Munda
Constituency : Khunti(Jharkhand)
Party Name : Bhartiya Janata Party
Father's Name : Late Shri Hadwa Munda
Mother's Name : Late Smt. Chambri Devi
Date of Birth : 20 Apr 1936
Place of Birth : Vill.Anigara, Chandidih, Distt. Khunti (Jharkhand
Marital Status : Widower
Date of Marriage : 24 May 1967
Spouse's Name : Late Smt. Sunanda Devi
No.of Sons : 2
No.of Daughters : 3
Educational Qualifications :
Educated at Ranchi University, Ranchi, Jharkhand
Profession :
Social Worker

Positions Held

Till 1977 Joint Secretary, Bharatiya Jana Sangh, Bihar
1977 Elected to 6th Lok Sabha
Chairman, Sub-Committee on Hindi, Department of Steel and Mines
Union Minister of State, Steel and Mines
Member, Janata Party
1980 onwards Member, Central Working Committee, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.)
Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly
Member, Tribal Welfare Committee
1989 Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Member, Standing Committee on Science and Technology; and Environment and Forests
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Industry
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1991-93 Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1992 onwards President, Tribal Cell, B.J.P.
1994-96 Member, Standing Committee on Urban and Rural Development
1994-98 President, All India Scheduled Tribes Front, B.J.P.
Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (4th term)
16 May-1 Jun. 1996 Union Cabinet Minister, Welfare
Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
Member, Standing Committee on Energy
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Energy
Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Vice-President, B.J.P.
Chairman, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; and its Sub-Committee on Monitoring and Implementation of reservation orders in respect of SCs and STs
Member, Standing Committee on Food, Civil Supplies and Public Distribution; and its Sub-Committee-B on Department of Sugar and Edible Oils
Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1999-2000 Member, Standing Committee on Communications
2000-2001 Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
2000- Sep. 2001 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Mines and Minerals
1 Sep. 2001 - 29 Jan. 2003 Union Cabinet Minister, Agro and Rural Industries
29 Jan. 2003 - 09 Jan. 2004 Union Cabinet Minister, Coal
9 Jan. 2004-22 May 2004 Minister, Non-Conventional Energy Sources
2005-2009 Member, Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (7th term)
8 Jun. 2009 Deputy Speaker, Lok Sabha
04 Sep. 2009 Chairman, Joint Committee on Security in Parliament Complex
10 Sep. 2009 Chairman, Committee on Budget
23 Sep. 2009
Chairman, Committee on Private Members` Bills and Resolutions
Chairman, Library Committee
19 Oct. 2009 Member, General Purposes Committee
21 Dec. 2009
Chairman, Committee on Provision of Computers for MPs, Offices of Political Parties in Lok Sabha and Officers of Lok Sabha Secretariat
Vice-President, Executive Committee of Indian Parliamentary Group
Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Children
Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Water Conservation and Management
Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Youth
Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Population and Public Health
Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Global Warming and Climate Change
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (8th term)
14 Aug. 2014 - 30 April 2016 Member Committee on Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1 Sep. 2014 onwards
Member, Standing Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Coal
15 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Committee on Ethics

Social And Cultural Activities

Struggle against exploitation, social evils, promotion of education, folk songs and dance

Sports and Clubs

Hockey and football

Countries Visited

China, France, London, Nepal, North Korea, Singapore, Thailand, U.A.E. and U.S.A.

Other Information

Attended 20th Conference of Speakers and Presiding Officers of the Commonwealth(CSPOC), New Delhi



Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to provide accurate data. However  loksabhaelections.in & its owners do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Source : Election Commission of India